- Covid-19 safety
- Private Tour
- See and Do
Bolu Yıldırım Bayezıd Camii(Bolu Yildirim Bayezid Mosque)
n the years (1389-1402), which coincides with the period when he was the governor of Amasya, Yıldırım Bayezid had a complex consisting of a mosque, madrasah, double bath and library built in his name in Bolu. Of these, the madrasa and the library were destroyed, and the hamam (Middle hamam) was repaired several times and is currently used in its original form. The walls of the first mosque were made of masonry, the interior pillars, ceiling and roof were made of wood in the Ulu Mosque type. This structure was destroyed in the fire in 1803 (1218 Hijri) and a larger wooden mosque was built in its place. This wooden structure was burned for the second time in 1891 (Hijri 1309) and was completely demolished and was built by Sultan II. It was rebuilt by Abdülhamit Han in 1901 (Hijri 1317). The original inscription of the mosque is not available. In the poem belonging to Emiri, written in thuluth celi on paper, Yıldırım Bayezid Han had this Great Mosque built with the course of the world, and the mosque was completely destroyed and Sultan II. It is written that Abdülhamit Han did not consent to the destruction of this holy house and had Zihni Pasha rebuilt it.