The Double Minaret Madrasah, also known as the Hatuniye Madrasa, is an iconic Seljuk structure that has become synonymous with the city of Erzurum. Although its exact builder is unknown, it is believed to have been constructed in the late 13th century, possibly by Hundi Hatun, Aladdin Keykubat’s daughter from his first marriage, or by Sultana Hatun of the Ilkhanid dynasty.
The madrasa is thought to have been completed before the Seljuk power ended in Erzurum in 1277, following the construction of the Gök Madrasa in Sivas, which served as a model. It is the largest madrasa in Anatolia and was originally designed as a theological school, but over time it has also served as a gun foundry (in the 17th century) and an armory (in the 19th century). Today, it has been transformed into a museum that chronicles its vibrant history.